Newsletter subscribe

Editor's Choice, Featured, Politics


WhatsApp Image 2019-01-08 at 13.35.53
Posted: January 8, 2019 at 2:01 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

The Voiceless Media was in Tamale Central for our constituency series and noticed that there is an overwhelming interest by the electorates in that constituency to have Dr Ibrahim Anyars Imoro come back as the NPP Parliamentary Candidate for the constituency.
The current Tamale Central constituency together with the current Tamale South constituency was known as the Gukpegu/Sabonjida constituency until 2004.
In 1996 the late Mustapha Ali Idris was elected the NPP MP for the then Gukpegu/Sabonjida constituency after beating the late B.A. Fuseini who contested on the ticket of the NDC. In that election, Alhaji Mustapha Ali got 31, 964 votes to beat Alhaji B.A. Fuseini who got 24, 107 . Mustapha Ali retained the seat again for the NPP in the 2000 elections by pulling 24, 819 votes to beat Dr Nashiru ISSAHAKU of the NDC who got 22, 255. Dr Nashiru became Governor of the Bank of Ghana under President John Mahama.
Adam Mohammed Amin Anta contested the Tamale Central seat in 2004, he polled 24,614 votes and Alhaji Alhassan Wayo Seini Who was the candidate of the NDC polled 35,635 votes to win the seat for the NDC
The NDC won the seat again in 2008. Adam Mohammed Amin Anta was the Candidate of the NPP once again and got 19,483 votes. Alhaji Inusah Fuseini won the seat for the NDC by obtaning 40,625 votes.

In the 2012 elections, Mr Iddrisu Musah Superior Who is currently the Metropolitan Chief Executive for Tamale stood for the NPP and polled 23,761 votes. Alhaji Inusah Fuseini representing the NDC won with 39,545 of the votes.
In the 2016 elections,Dr Ibrahim Anyars Imoro represented the NPP in Tamale Central and got 25,230 of the votes. Inusah Fuseini of the NDC retained the seat by pulling 39,545 votes.
It was generally held after the 2016 elections that the verdict was stolen by the NDC in Tamale Central. The party therefore went to Court to Challenge some of the votes from some of the Polling stations in the constituency. Alhaji Inusah Fuseini was Eventually sworn in as the MP of the area.
The NPP in Tamale Central thinks that the performance of Dr Ibrahim Anyars Imoro was impressive in 2016 and Should be repeated as the Candidate of the NPP for election 2020.
Dr Anyars is currently the National Coordinator of the Nation Buildes Corp and it is not immediately known whether he Would heed to the calls by his constituents to contest again. It is also not known at this stage whether other aspirants would emerge in the constituency when the party opens nominations for Parliamentary Primaries in the constituency. But for now the clarion call is for Dr Ibrahim Anyars Imoro to give the Tamale Central seat a second chance again.
Source: The Voiceless Media.